Wednesday, June 24, 2009

2008/09 Vezina Trophy Winner, Tim Thomas

Tim Thomas of the Boston Bruins, Steve Mason of the Columbus Blue Jackets, and Niklas Backstrom of the Minnesota Wild were the finalists for the 2008/09 Vezina Trophy award. The Vezina Trophy is awarded to the top goaltender in the NHL. They choose the winner by gathering 30 general managers of all the teams in the NHL and vote to determine the top goalie for that year.

The winner for the 2008/09 Vezina Trophy was Tim Thomas. He was awarded the trophy on June the 18th. Tim Thomas is a well deserving goaltender for this award. He ended of the season with a stellar 2.10 GAA, 0.933 save %, and 5 shutouts. He ended off leading the league with the top GAA and save %. In playoffs he posted a 0.935 save %, 1.85 GAA, and one shutout. Thomas has been playing for the Bruins since the 2005/06 season. He also made an appearance in this year's all star game. In the off season he runs a goalie camp which would be pretty cool to go to considering you would be learning from the best goalie in the world right now.

No comments:

Post a Comment