Sunday, June 28, 2009

Steve Mason, Calder Trophy Winner

This years 2009 Calder Memorial Trophy was awarded to Steve Mason of the Columbus Blue Jackets. He beat out Bobby Ryan of the Anaheim Ducks and Chris Versteeg of the Chicago Blackhawks. I am so glad that a goalie won it this year.

The Calder Trophy is awarded to the top rookie of the year. The people that choose the winner is the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. This award has been around since 1936/37.

This year was a pretty obvious choice of who should win the Calder Trophy. In the regular season Steve Mason played 61 games with 33 wins and 20 loses. His goalie stats are as follows: 10 shutouts a GAA of 2.29 and a Save% of .916. That is an awesome record. Congratulations Steve Mason and best of luck in the future!

No comments:

Post a Comment